Things are not good…

I don’t have to tell you things are bad. Everybody knows things are bad. They flat out suck. It’s an “economic recovery” that’s like going from Stage 4 Cancer to Stage 3 Cancer. Everybody’s out of work or knows someone who’s out of work, and they’re scared of losing their own job. The dollar buys a nickel’s worth. Banks are going either going bust or making money off of predatory lending. Shopkeepers keep a gun under the counter but are afraid to use it. There’s nobody anywhere who seems to know what to do, and there’s no end to it. Can you remember the last great leader we had? To some, it’s Bill Clinton. To others, it’s Ronald Reagan. To some, it’s all the way back to Dwight Eisenhower..and I bet you could find people who think each of those individuals were the worst thing that ever happened to America. We know the air is unfit to breathe and our water is unfit to drink and our fast food and sugary drinks are making us fat, and we sit watching our TVs while some local newscaster tells us that today we had fifteen homicides and sixty-three violent crimes, as if that’s the way it’s supposed to be.

We know things are bad — worse than bad. They’re crazy. It’s like everything everywhere is going crazy, so we don’t go out anymore. We sit in the house, and slowly the world we are living in is getting smaller, and all we say is: ‘Please, at least leave us alone in our living rooms. Let me have my iPhone and my TV and my reality television and I won’t say anything. Just leave us alone.’

Well, I’m not gonna leave you alone. I want you to get MAD! I don’t want you to protest. I don’t want you to riot — I don’t want you to write to your Congressman, because I wouldn’t know what to tell you to write. I don’t know what to do about the recession and the War on Terror and the government shutdown and the crime in the streets and in the boardrooms. All I know is that first you’ve got to get mad. You’ve got to say: ‘I’m a human being, God dammit! My life has value!’ We’ve given up. We stopped giving a damn. Depression and lethargy is just anger without enthusiasm, and we’re depressed. We think just posting on Facebook or forwarding a Tweet is activism enough. Vote? Why vote? Nothing changes. And because nothing changes, we don’t vote, and because we don’t vote, nothing changes, so we don’t vote and…

Enough.

Here’s where I have to quote the clip above, the one I took a good bit of this from…

So, I want you to get up now. I want all of you to get up out of your chairs. I want you to get up right now and go to the window. Open it, and stick your head out, and yell: I’M AS MAD AS HELL, AND I’M NOT GOING TO TAKE THIS ANYMORE!

I want you to get up right now. Sit up. Go to your windows. Open them and stick your head out and yell – ‘I’m as mad as hell and I’m not gonna take this anymore!’ Things have got to change. But first, you’ve gotta get mad!…You’ve got to say, I’M AS MAD AS HELL, AND I’M NOT GOING TO TAKE THIS ANYMORE! Then we’ll figure out what to do about the depression and the inflation and the oil crisis. But first, get up out of your chairs, open the window, stick your head out, and yell, and say it: I’M AS MAD AS HELL, AND I’M NOT GOING TO TAKE THIS ANYMORE!

I can’t ask you to shout in public during working hours, but we can start somewhere. If you agree with this, if you think that, no matter who we elect in 2014, and then 2016, and then 2020, it’s still going to suck, then we have to say ‘enough.’ Respond to this status with “I’m as mad as hell, and I’m not going to take this anymore!” Yes, it’s posting on Facebook, but it starts somewhere. It starts with getting angry, not frustrated, not oppressed or suppressed, but angry. Get angry at your Congressmen and Senators (or Governor, why not?). Get angry that we need a CNN/Fox News shutdown as opposed to a government shutdown. Get angry that people’s health care and morals are being used as political footballs. Then we’ll figure out what the hell to do about everything, but first, you have to get mad! You have to get angry! Just go to the bottom of this update and post: I’M MAD AS HELL, AND I’M NOT GOING TO TAKE THIS ANYMORE! Maybe I’m optimistic, maybe I hold a little faith in the goodness of humanity, maybe I’m just sound and fury signifying nothing, but someone has to get mad! Someone has to get angry!

DAMN IT, I’M MAD AS HELL, AND I’M NOT GOING TO TAKE IT ANYMORE!

About cobiwann

A guy who's into a niche fandom of a niche fandom - the Big Finish audio plays of "Doctor Who." Also into the show itself, both old and new, plus pop culture and a smattering of human insight.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

