New review up tomorrow, for Embrace the Darkness

…but in much, much bigger news, Big Finish released their 50th Anniversary episode a month early, putting it on their website for download this past Wednesday.

The Light at the End sees Four, Five, Six, Seven, and Eight, along with Leela, Nyssa, Peri, Ace, Charley, and a couple of surprise guests, attempting to stop the Master from finally defeating the Doctor once and for all.

It’s AMAZING.

I know there are flaws in it, but it’s going to take a second listen for me to pick them up, because the whole time I had the biggest grin on my face. Normally, it takes me two to three days to listen to an audio play in full, as I listen to it on my commute to and from work, which is about an hour each way, and sometimes I’ll take a nap instead of listening to an episode. There have been three audios that have bucked this trend that I’ve blown through in a full day. The Chimes of Midnight, Spare Parts, the Church and the Crown, and now you can add The Light at the End to the list.

I’m saving my full review for the morning of 11/23, but I will say, just hearing Tom Baker and Paul McGann banter back and forth is incredible.

Four: That’s not our TARDIS, is it?

Eight: No, I’m afraid not, unless one of our future selves fixes the Chameleon Circuit.

Four: We don’t become _that_ vulgar, I hope.

Yeah, 12 hours after listening to the finale, I’m still grinning like a madman. If you’re a fan of Doctor Who, especially the “classic” Doctors, you owe it to yourself to pick this one up from Big Finish as soon as possible.

About cobiwann

A guy who's into a niche fandom of a niche fandom - the Big Finish audio plays of "Doctor Who." Also into the show itself, both old and new, plus pop culture and a smattering of human insight.
Link | This entry was posted in Big Finish Review and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

