Week in Review – 1-12-2014

Weight – 315.0

So that’s my weight today. Good news, it’s not the HEAVIEST I’ve ever been. The bad news is, it’s kind of close.

But! I’m not worried about numbers higher than 315. I’m worried about numbers lower. And that number above is lower than the last time I weighed myself a week ago. So I’m doing SOMETHING right.

My eating habits have gotten a lot better. Aside from having a bag of chips today with lunch, I’ve cut out a lot of the junk food I’ve just casually eaten. A big bag of tortilla chips, or a pint of Ben and Jerry’s, I could down those without a second thought. While I haven’t been perfect this week (breakfast twice this week? It involved a whole lot of bacon, and we’ll just leave it at that), I’ve been better.

And this week upcoming, I’ll be even better.

That’s what it’s about. Every day/week/month just being a bit better than you were before. I’ll never be perfect; I will stumble, I will fall, I will eat things that are bad for me. But as long as I keep trying to be better and show a little bit of progress every week and end up better than I was before, that’s all that’s important. To be better than you were before, even if you stumbled or backslid.

Exercise, what I did this week is a program called Sean’s Stripped 5 x 5. Basically, it’s 2 sets of exercises, each consisting of 3 lifts, each lift being 5 sets of increasing weight. It sounds easy, but after 5-6 times doing it, I can safely say I am SORE as all get out. You get what you put into it, and I’m at the point where I’m putting more into it. I plan this week to add some cardio to it as well…

Diet, the biggest thing is that I’ve given up soda. Not just regular soda, but diet soda. I would have no problems sucking down a 2 liter of Diet Pepsi in 15-20 minutes and doing it all again a hour or two later. I thought giving up soda would be hard, that I would have headaches, shakes, and a generally surly attitude. But, it turns out I don’t miss it. At all. When I’ve had a chance to buy soda this week, whether in the cafeteria or out with my friends, I barely even gave it a second though and went right for water, juice, or beer. Right now, it’s not calories I’m worried about. It’s all those damn chemicals I built up in my body over the years from diet soda.

Blog, I’ve been busy all week, but I hope to have my next Doctor Who review up tomorrow…

 

 

About cobiwann

A guy who's into a niche fandom of a niche fandom - the Big Finish audio plays of "Doctor Who." Also into the show itself, both old and new, plus pop culture and a smattering of human insight.
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

