Week in Review – 1-19-2014

Weight – 310.2

Two weeks in, 4 pounds (rounded up, of course, because saying “I’ve lost 3.8 pounds so far” is just silly).

Exercise – I like lifting weights. Out of all the exercises I’ve attempted over the years, lifting weights is the one I most enjoy. Of course, I usually enjoy it AFTER the fact. While I’m doing it, I’m thinking to myself “there’s no way I can lift that much, nope, no, no, no,” And while I’m trying to press a piece of iron over my head, I’m going “nope, nope, this isn’t happening, nope, nope.” And five minutes after I’ve managed to finish my sets, I’m telling myself “I just did that. Holy crap.”

Cardio’s fine, but as a fat guy, I “feel” it a lot more. I tend to think “no way, I can’t finish this” more during cardio on a treadmill when my knees and ankles are launching a joint protest.

I’ve had to work late all week, but I haven’t missed a gym day yet. It’s weird going late at night (10 pm for me twice this week), but that’s how habits are formed; repetition until there’s no need for repetition anymore. Still, when you’re one of only three people in the entire gym…well, somewhere there’s a masked slasher stalking a scantily-clad spin class.

Diet – still no soda, still no junk food. Still room for improvement, though. Juice is the “worst” thing I’ve drank all week, and I’ve drunk just enough to notice I’ve been drinking a lot of juice. A lot of water too, though. I mean, a LOT of water. I wish a day would come where I drank nothing but water, but I like flavor too much. And beer. 🙂

But, no fast food. The only time I ate out all week was yesterday when my fiancee took me to TGIF, and I had grilled salmon. Ok, mashed potatoes and a Guinness as well. But no soda, no french fries, and no dessert. That’s good, that’s positive, that’s a step in the right direction!

Blog – As you can see, the layout is still the same. My free time this week and weekend has been nil (save the time to write this…hmm, are my priorities in line?). I did manage to finish Master though and am halfway through Davros. I’ll try to write up a review this week, but I don’t think I’ll have time with the way work is going…

About cobiwann

A guy who's into a niche fandom of a niche fandom - the Big Finish audio plays of "Doctor Who." Also into the show itself, both old and new, plus pop culture and a smattering of human insight.
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

